Infrared and full spectrum photography with m4/3 cameras

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Infrared and full spectrum photography with m4/3 cameras

I've been working on this post for a little while, and the new forum is a good opportunity to post it.

Several forum members have infrared- and full spectrum-converted m4/3 bodies, but there are few resources focused on m4/3 across the web, and some of the information I have found is not correct, at least by my own experience. It seems a good idea to provide an opportunity to pull together the resources we have plus our collective experience.

I know that the resulting images can be marmite – I love many of them, but others can’t see the point, and that’s fine by me

I’m no expert on the technical and practical aspects of sensor conversions or on the filter choices one has to make. Similarly, almost all the information on processing colour or mono images relates to Photoshop and Lightroom, neither of which I use, and so I’m not going to post much at all on PP.

To save me having to cover them, here are some useful basic and advanced resources from the established and widely-recommended UK and US companies selling IR conversions:

https://www.protechrepairs.co.uk/
    https://advancedcameraservices.co.uk/products/
    https://kolarivision.com/what-is-infrared-photography/
    https://www.lifepixel.com/introduction

However, I have now got quite a bit of experience with converting mono 720nm filtered raw images and some colour ones with Capture One Pro, and I get results that satisfy me at least! Maybe I’m just easily pleased, but I’ve discussed this with CO experts, and I’m sure this relates to the particular way CO colour management is implemented. It just seems to suit IR processing, and you don’t need to get involved with ‘channel swapping’ and other witchcraft. After raw conversion, in my experience the Nik suite is brilliant for enhancing detail and tonal contrasts.