Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th October 2019
Phill D's Avatar
Phill D Phill D is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 10,133
Thanks: 1,210
Thanked 1,455 Times in 1,344 Posts
Likes: 1,145
Liked 2,452 Times in 1,162 Posts
What broadband speed do you need?

Just wondered what speed is needed to operate this forum and post images We've been looking to move house to a more rural location that only has 5Mb/s download which is a lot less than the 200Mb/s luxury we currently have. I suspect that downloading videos will be a no no or overnight job but is that likely to make the forum too slow to operate?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th October 2019
TimP TimP is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 2,112
Thanks: 60
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Likes: 381
Liked 774 Times in 530 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Could it be that a 4G or 5G signal might be better? Forum will work, of course, but like all these things, faster is better.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th October 2019
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,121
Thanks: 92
Thanked 339 Times in 266 Posts
Likes: 37
Liked 544 Times in 382 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Apart from the slow speed you should be concerned about the reliability of the connection. If you are the end of a long wire that has lots of connections and other customers you could be liable to outages due to bad connections.

Also if you are out in the sticks and the telephone cable is carried overhead over many telegraph poles repairs may be delayed as the engineers wait for the cherry picker overhead platforms to arrive - perhaps from the other side of the county, so that the engineer can remake the connection.

You have a quality of life / quality of communications issue.
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th October 2019
Wildwood Wildwood is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: dfdsfsdf
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 68
Liked 73 Times in 47 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

I "only" get about 6MB download speed and that's way more than I actually need for downloading or watching videos. Upload is speed is, of course, a lot less than that but I don't do a lot of uploading.
__________________
Best wishes

Wildwood
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th October 2019
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 10,318
Thanks: 424
Thanked 598 Times in 507 Posts
Likes: 3,557
Liked 2,567 Times in 1,683 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

We managed perfectly well with 'standard' broadband before we got the Fibre to Cabinet thingummy. Our connection speed was 18 MB/Second but uploads were limited to 512 kB/Second. The main advantage is the upload speed, although downloads are faster too.

Whether uploading or downloading you will never achieve anything like the claimed speed owing to 'contention' with other users.
__________________
---------------

Naughty Nigel


Difficult is worth doing
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th October 2019
TimP TimP is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 2,112
Thanks: 60
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Likes: 381
Liked 774 Times in 530 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naughty Nigel View Post
We managed perfectly well with 'standard' broadband before we got the Fibre to Cabinet thingummy. Our connection speed was 18 MB/Second but uploads were limited to 512 kB/Second. The main advantage is the upload speed, although downloads are faster too.

Whether uploading or downloading you will never achieve anything like the claimed speed owing to 'contention' with other users.
We kinda managed perfectly well but I could never use YouTube as it would just buffer all the time. O/S updates needed leaving overnight to download, so no, perhaps we dont need it but it sure as hell makes modern connected live a lot easier.
BTW Im jealous of your speeds unless of course youve embiggened your little b. !!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th October 2019
Tram Tram is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 526
Thanks: 29
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 52
Liked 182 Times in 124 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Suppose it depends what you want it for, we had 15Mb/s and that was perfectly adequate
Upgraded to fibre to the cabinet and get about 65Mb/s now, for our uses haven't really noticed any difference.
Only changed because it was offered at the same price and we needed a new router which was included.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th October 2019
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 10,318
Thanks: 424
Thanked 598 Times in 507 Posts
Likes: 3,557
Liked 2,567 Times in 1,683 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimP View Post
We kinda managed perfectly well but I could never use YouTube as it would just buffer all the time. O/S updates needed leaving overnight to download, so no, perhaps we dont need it but it sure as hell makes modern connected live a lot easier.
BTW Im jealous of your speeds unless of course youve embiggened your little b. !!
According the line test we are 1 kM from the exchange so we have always enjoyed good connection speeds, towards the top of what is claimed by BT.

We are a bit out in the sticks so there is probably not too much demand or noise on the line. We upgraded to BT Fibre to the Cabinet about four years ago which provided a worthwhile improvement. I have just run a speed check which gave the following figures:


Download Speed (Mbps): 78.14

Upload Speed (Mbps) : 10.61

Ping Latency (ms): 12
__________________
---------------

Naughty Nigel


Difficult is worth doing
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th October 2019
Tram Tram is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 526
Thanks: 29
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 52
Liked 182 Times in 124 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Just checked our speed and its as follows

Download
67.77 Mb/s

Upload
10.32 Mb/s
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th October 2019
Phill D's Avatar
Phill D Phill D is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 10,133
Thanks: 1,210
Thanked 1,455 Times in 1,344 Posts
Likes: 1,145
Liked 2,452 Times in 1,162 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Thanks for the info guys. We are on Virgin and they kept upgrading it for free so we are now at 220MB/s download and 21MB/s upload according to speed test hence never needed to worry about speed. Dropping down to over 40x slower was a bit of a concern but maybe it will be OK. Maybe my wife and daughters ipads will just have to go missing occasionally
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 9th October 2019
Otto's Avatar
Otto Otto is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 3,247
Thanks: 102
Thanked 291 Times in 256 Posts
Likes: 1,139
Liked 972 Times in 617 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

So long as you don't all want to watch different movies at the same time you should be OK. The recommended minimum for BBC iPlayer standard quality (for example) is 1.5Mb/s, up to 5MB/s for HD.
__________________
Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10th October 2019
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 6,404
Thanks: 360
Thanked 573 Times in 452 Posts
Likes: 3,055
Liked 1,683 Times in 831 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

I live in the sticks and we are totally dependent on the copper wire traveling on the telegraph poles to our house. We are on BT as our broadband supplier and get Download speeds of 46Mb/sec and Upload of 8.9Mb/sec.

The exchange (small green cabinet at the roadside) is approximately 1.5 miles away. We did lose broadband last winter for almost a week due to the overhead cable rubbing against a tree branch and cutting through some of the wires inside.

But, as Otto says as long as you don't download multiple different live video feeds then anything over 5Mb/sec is OK. Below that you will certainly notice it.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10th October 2019
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 10,318
Thanks: 424
Thanked 598 Times in 507 Posts
Likes: 3,557
Liked 2,567 Times in 1,683 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wornish View Post
The exchange (small green cabinet at the roadside) is approximately 1.5 miles away.
That small green box is not the Exchange, but the Cabinet, as in 'Fibre to the Cabinet'. The Exchange will be a bigger building, possibly some distance away.

The idea is that high speed fibre broadband is brought to cabinets near to consumers. The final mile or so is by copper wire, thereby avoiding the cost of replacing the wires to consumer's premises; which incidentally would also prohibit the sue of self-powered telephones as they receive power at 48 Volts from the exchange.
__________________
---------------

Naughty Nigel


Difficult is worth doing
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Naughty Nigel For This Useful Post:
wornish (10th October 2019)
  #14  
Old 10th October 2019
Tram Tram is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 526
Thanks: 29
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 52
Liked 182 Times in 124 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

There is also FTTP, the P standing for premises and is fibre all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10th October 2019
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 6,404
Thanks: 360
Thanked 573 Times in 452 Posts
Likes: 3,055
Liked 1,683 Times in 831 Posts
Re: What broadband speed do you need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tram View Post
There is also FTTP, the P standing for premises and is fibre all the way.
If you get that where you live then the speeds should be very fast indeed. I don't think it will happen in the near future despite promises by a certain politician.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SKY Broadband Down Graham_of_Rainham The lounge 2 1st December 2015 07:39 AM
BT broadband. edmund473 The lounge 8 4th February 2015 09:53 AM
HELP! Sorry it is my Broadband again! Pjphoto59 The lounge 31 22nd November 2012 05:49 PM
Australian High Speed Broadband Personified pandora Looking for improvement 4 3rd March 2012 10:04 PM
Broadband Experiences jamie allan The lounge 36 20th June 2011 10:39 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger